top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Zhang

Shopping and Sandpaper

3/28/2022

This week, I made progress in making my final product model. First, I planned out what supplies I should purchase for the model. This involved cumulating what I had learned from tutorials on different models. I gathered that the main things I had to purchase were thermocol, cutting tools, and playdoh. I also asked my mentor, Dr. Thayer, to help clarify what materials she thinks would best represent different parts of the eye. I plan to incorporate her advice into the components of my final product. After purchasing these items, I finally was able to experiment with the physical model. I first thought about how I could utilize saran wrap and playdoh to depict the process of vitrectorhexis in the anterior capsule, testing out some possible approaches. I also have bought more than enough thermocol, which allows me to test out techniques and learn how to navigate the carving without fear of mistakes. I got to work trying to carve out a hollowed-out eye that is split down the center. This proved to be very difficult and time-consuming in getting the desired shape. I experimented with using different tools besides the carving knives to possibly speed up the process. Additionally, the texture once carved was surprisingly bumpy, with a resemblance to popcorn. Using problem-solving, I utilized sandpaper to smoothen the inside of the model. I am happy with the progress I have made in my final product and look forward to continuing the design of this model.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Beginnings

5/2/2022 These past few weeks have marked the end of this year’s ISM journey. In the days before Final Presentation Night, I worked to rehearse thoroughly to develop a smooth speech that included all

Final Stretch

4/18/2022 During these past two weeks, a lot has happened within my ISM journey. To begin with, I completed my final product. This involved work on creating the three lenses to represent the progressi

Getting Creative

4/4/2022 I have continued to make further progress in creating my final product this past week. This involved carving out the shape of my model even more. I worked on hollowing out the eye, which will

bottom of page