top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Zhang

Final Stretch

4/18/2022

During these past two weeks, a lot has happened within my ISM journey. To begin with, I completed my final product. This involved work on creating the three lenses to represent the progression of pediatric cataract surgery by placing playdoh into the capsules differently for each lens. I also connected the cornea to the iris, which proved to be slightly difficult to shape the cornea in order to match a curved surface. I then had to connect all these components together using tape, velcro, and glue. With some final touches, I had finished the creation of my final product of a pediatric cataract surgery model. During the following week, I had a mentor visit in which I was able to receive some feedback on my model from Dr. Thayer. I also got to observe Dr. Thayer in the clinic again, which was extremely interesting and I learned so much from the patients’ interactions and conditions. Then, I prepared my rehearsal speech for Final Presentation Night. I accumulated all my work of research, original work, mentor visits, and final product into this preparation. It also helped me reflect on my final product and be able to walk through the steps of explaining the model. Overall, as I enter the final stretch of my ISM journey this year, I am happy with all the opportunities and work I have accomplished and excited for what is to come.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Beginnings

5/2/2022 These past few weeks have marked the end of this year’s ISM journey. In the days before Final Presentation Night, I worked to rehearse thoroughly to develop a smooth speech that included all

Getting Creative

4/4/2022 I have continued to make further progress in creating my final product this past week. This involved carving out the shape of my model even more. I worked on hollowing out the eye, which will

Shopping and Sandpaper

3/28/2022 This week, I made progress in making my final product model. First, I planned out what supplies I should purchase for the model. This involved cumulating what I had learned from tutorials on

bottom of page