top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Zhang

New Beginnings

5/2/2022

These past few weeks have marked the end of this year’s ISM journey. In the days before Final Presentation Night, I worked to rehearse thoroughly to develop a smooth speech that included all the points of my work and experiences within this program. When the big day came, I enjoyed being able to present to many different people during the display portion and have individual conversations regarding my work in pediatric ophthalmology. My classroom presentation portion went well and I appreciate all those who came to support me, along with being able to present to them about all that I have learned in ISM. As I reflect on my ISM journey after FPN, I have become even more grateful for all that this program has allowed me to accomplish. I am proud of my research, original work, and final product, as they have pushed me in working extensively to develop a deeper understanding of areas I am passionate about. Beyond these areas of progress I have made through ISM, this program has also allowed me to forge numerous new relationships. The relationships I have developed with Coach Goff, Dr. Thayer, and my classmates are all ones that I cherish and I know will continue into my future. As I wrap up this year’s experience in Independent Study & Mentorship, I look forward to the new beginnings I have ahead of me in my endeavors, including that of pursuing pediatric ophthalmology, that will always be guided by the amazing knowledge, opportunities, and relationships I have gained from this program.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Stretch

4/18/2022 During these past two weeks, a lot has happened within my ISM journey. To begin with, I completed my final product. This involved work on creating the three lenses to represent the progressi

Getting Creative

4/4/2022 I have continued to make further progress in creating my final product this past week. This involved carving out the shape of my model even more. I worked on hollowing out the eye, which will

Shopping and Sandpaper

3/28/2022 This week, I made progress in making my final product model. First, I planned out what supplies I should purchase for the model. This involved cumulating what I had learned from tutorials on

bottom of page