top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlicia Zhang

Making Visions a Reality

10/11/2021


I had the opportunity to attend the ISM Business Symposium this week. The symposium involved hearing from multiple speakers, each from a different career and each offering unique insights. The first speaker we heard from explained the process of turning visions into reality. He emphasized the importance of clarity of a vision over the calculation of how to get there. He applied this through his story of becoming a sports physician for the NBA. In high school, he had a vision of the NBA locker room, originally planning on pursuing a career in basketball. However, he changed paths after an injury but through his career in medicine, he still made the vision a reality as he worked for the NBA. The speaker’s story emphasizes that even when something does not go as planned, a goal can still be achieved as long as it is clear. Additionally, the speaker discussed the value of relationships for the results of a vision and how visions should be non-negotiable. I can apply his advice to my goals in ISM and other areas of my life. Through the numerous other professionals I heard from at the symposium, I continued to learn from their career experiences. I was also able to meet many other students and learn about their ISM journey through the business symposium. It was insightful to connect with them and share common experiences. Overall, the business symposium was a great opportunity to learn more about the professional world and make connections that will guide me on my ISM journey.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New Beginnings

5/2/2022 These past few weeks have marked the end of this year’s ISM journey. In the days before Final Presentation Night, I worked to rehearse thoroughly to develop a smooth speech that included all

Final Stretch

4/18/2022 During these past two weeks, a lot has happened within my ISM journey. To begin with, I completed my final product. This involved work on creating the three lenses to represent the progressi

Getting Creative

4/4/2022 I have continued to make further progress in creating my final product this past week. This involved carving out the shape of my model even more. I worked on hollowing out the eye, which will

bottom of page